Rotation problems

Hi guys, I’m new to OpenGl and I need your help.
I try to rotate a cube around z axis, but it is rotating around a target.This is my code:

ourShader.Use();
glm::mat4 transform;
transform = glm::translate(transform, glm::vec3(0.5f, -0.5f, 0.0f));
transform = glm::rotate(transform, glm::radians((GLfloat)glfwGetTime() * 50.0f), glm::vec3(0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f));
GLint transformLoc = glGetUniformLocation(ourShader.Program, "transform");
glUniformMatrix4fv(transformLoc, 1, GL_FALSE, glm::value_ptr(transform));

And in the vertex shader:

uniform mat4 transform;
gl_Position = transform * vec4(position, 1.0f);

Can you tell me what it could be the problem ?

Thank you!

Sure. Depending on the order of multiplication when multiplying a rotation times a given matrix you will either rotate on it’s own axis or orbit the origin. With the GLM rotate function, as far as I can tell there is no way to control this because they do the math for you. So, you are stuck with their choice of orbiting. There are a couple ways to work around this though. I’ve been tempted to write my own math library to get around this. But the easiest way is probably to move the object to the origin so that it is centered on the origin, then do the rotation, and move it back all in a single frame before it is drawn. The viewer will never know the difference and because it is at the origin, rotation and orbiting become the same thing. At that point, all the vertices in the model orbiting the origin will rotate the object.

The way I deal with it though is to feed GLM’s rotate function an identity matrix rather than one with data in it. This keeps GLM from performing the rotation and forces it to give me a rotation matrix where I can perform the rotation and choose the order of multiplication to control whether it rotates or orbits. Here’s a code example:

Cube2Pivot = Cube2Pivot * glm::rotate(glm::mat4(), glm::radians<float>(1), glm::vec3(0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f));