rendering texture data in real time

Hi!

I am fairly new to OpenGL Programming an I have a question concerning hardware/software-performance.
I work on a Win2k platform with a ASUS GF 4 card (AGP slot). I have written a multithreaded Win32 application using VC 6 which renders exclusively two-dimensional. Basically one thread writes random data in a simple unsigned byte array [1024]. The values written to this array (ranging from values 0 to 255) shall serve as texture data that gets displayed two coloured (0 is equivalent to black and 255 to the brightest yellow). The other thread receives this array by means of a message pipe and is responsible for displaying the textures on a GL_QUADS primitive. I therefore use the command glTexSubImage*() in order to constantly replace the last texture data resident in texture memory with the newly created texture data from the array resp. the pipe. The frequency I would like to realize in this process is 8 kHz which means that 8 Mbyte/sec texture data accumulate and have to be rendered. But performance is quite poor and I only can realize a frequency of about 3.5 kHz before my CPU usage reaches 100% and the textures start to jitter.
I would like to know if there by any chance is a way to increase the performance. Isn’t this performance a little bit low? Where might the bottleneck be (e.g. transferring the texture data from system memory to texture memory, message pipe)?

I am really stucked with this problem and would be very thankful for any hints and pieces of advice.
Thanx
CD

The threading and the pipe is probably where alot of your overhead is. Do you actually need to multithread? There are probably alot of unnecessary copies going on.

-Won

Uploading the texture data could be a bottleneck (just to make sure I’m understanding correctly, you’re trying to upload a 1024x1 8bit texture 8000 times per second?). The 8MB/s can quickly turn into much more if the driver has to do temporary copies.