Rendering large amount of text.

Hello,

I’m a bit new to openGL (well not really but I’ve been having an on-and off relationship with it for quite some time as I don’t make 3d applications very often). My apologies if this belongs in the Beginner’s section.

But, I wanted to render large pieces of text on the screen. This appears to be a bit unnatural to do…
Here are two strategies (in descending order of naivity) I’ve tried, and their problems.

(The display lists I’ve used are “compiled” ones, of course…)

1. Init : Store each character in a display list (a textured quad).
    Draw : Render text by calling the display lists for each character that is supposed to be drawn right now.
    Problem : big slowdown from 5000+ letters on, due to the high pixel fill, I think…(I want to be able to zoom in and out of the text), since all the quads face the camera. Is that the reason why it slows down there?

2. Init : Store blocks of 1000 or so signs in display lists.
    Draw : call the lists that effectively need to be drawn.
    No improvement whatsoever.

3. A strategy I want to try, but I don’t know how (I don’t think it’s that hard using buffers but your opinions on its efficiency would help me a lot in thinking straight).
    Render blocks of text using method 2) or 1) to a buffer, and then store that buffer as a texture.
    Then use it on big quads.

Is method 3) the most efficient way of doing this? It needs a lot of memory I think, storing all those rather big textures in VRAM…? (if I want to store them in display lists) Supposing I work with 1Mb+ files, I don’t even think they’d fit.

Does anybody have any better ideas for me to try, or tell me what I’m doing wrong?

I do want to work in 3d and no rasters or anything.

Thank you lots for any help,

M. Mortier

Try to put font in texture. Then for each letter build mapping coordinates and render it using quads.
It will be fast enough.