Rendering dynamic 3D scenes

Dear all,
I have a 3D model which changes over time, and I want to render the model to a different view point based on my input (mouse, keyboard ,…). I am not sure how to program the render so that the I can still move freely in the 3D space while the 3D model is changing(updating) at the same time, using openGL?

I am pretty new to openGL. I apologize if I didn’t describe the problem clearly.

Thanks.
Jianwei

Your question is pretty general.

What you want to do is definitely possible with OpenGL. However, you’re going to need to spend some quality time reading The OpenGL Programming Guide and various OpenGL Tutorials to get yourself up-to-speed so that you can implement this yourself.

That said, you should first consider whether there is an existing application that might fulfill your needs. Given what you’ve provided so far, I could easily see this being the case. If so, there’s no point in re-inventing the wheel except as a fun learning exercise.

Thanks for your advice. I am currently using the Viz 3D viewer in OpenCV, but it does not seem to be obvious to accomplish the task. One reason is that there aren’t many documentations about Viz online. I will certainly keep up with openGL and search for the existing applications. If possible, would you mind pointing out some existing open source applications that might get the job done and what part of the OpenGL is related to “dynamic scene rendering”?

Thank you so much.
Jianwei

As Dark_Photon already mentioned, your questions are a little bit too general. I can’t give you any advice which application might suit your needs because to me it is still not clear what exactly your goals are.

…what part of the OpenGL is related to “dynamic scene rendering”

The process of generating the final picture out of a certain set of data.