ready to create a game

OK. I think I know enough to start building a simple game(I mean really simple, like a box running around a map shooting spheres and running through walls ). I have never programmed a game before and do not know the process of making a game, but many of you in this forum are prolly game programmers of some sort. I know how to set up the OpenGL window, created simple solids and wireframes, transforming and rotating objects, texture mapping these simple objects, and lighting all the simple objects. what is the next step? how do I create a map? do I use QUADS all the way to build a room? then texture it QUAD by QUAD? Please share you insights and experiences here.

Hi !

You will find tons of information about game development at www.gamedev.net

Mikael

Well, I started a cool little 3D engine a few days ago. I used a basic derivitave on the old doom idea of building a map out of sectors. the idea being that each sector is a rectangular area, bounded by 1 or more wall. Every sector can have a different floor/ceiling height.

This is pretty cool, because you can check entire sectors at a time for visibility and save tons of culling calculations.

It also loads from a file. All you do is have the file specify the bottom left and top right x,z coord of each sector, floor and celing height for each sector, and 2 x,z coords for each wall. That is the left coord (looking down the normal) and the right coord. It world pretty good, and even with basic code its runs really fast.

If your interested i’ll email you the source.

yes, may I see it? What video card are you developing on, I am on an ATI all in Wonder and it runs really slow with only 2 textures binded to walls and ceilings, It believe it does everything on the CPU.

Here is my email:

lipid2001@yahoo.com

thank you

hello,
to create levels, you can use a text file and you store the vectrices and the texture coordinates inside,you will need some structures.