read back buffer

Hi there;
I am a beginner. I need some help in OpenGl to achieve my graduation project at university.

I have a sequence of 3 images of the same scene, so how can I divide my image into 3 vertical strips and then take the first strip of the first image, the second strip of the second image, and the third strip of the third image and then add them together in one new image so that the first strip is at the left, the second in the middle and the third on the right of the new image and display the resulting image?
I used: glReadBuffer(GL_BACK), glReadPixels, glDrawBuffer,glCopyPixels, and other functtions but in vain. any ideas?

int main(int argc, char** argv) {
glutInit(&argc, argv);

glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_RGB | GLUT_DEPTH);		
glutInitWindowSize(1020, 768);

glutCreateWindow("Selina Rio - UCL London");
initRendering();
glutKeyboardFunc(handleKeypress);
glutReshapeFunc(handleResize);

if (counter == 1)

{
glReadBuffer(GL_BACK);

glReadPixels(0,0,340,768,GLUT_RGB,GLUT_DOUBLE,data);
}

if (counter == 2)
{
glReadBuffer(GL_BACK);

glReadPixels(341,0,340,768,GLUT_RGB,GLUT_DOUBLE,data);
}

if (counter == 3)
{
glReadBuffer(GL_BACK);

glReadPixels(680,0,340,768,GLUT_RGB,GLUT_DOUBLE,data);

}

glutMainLoop();
return 0;

}

Load each image as a texture.

Draw the required portions of texture using a quad and selecting the image portion with texture coordinates.

Position the quads using vertex values or modelview matrix manipulations.

If you have one big image you’re trying to move around then you can just read it all and use a single texture for it all.

You then select portions using texture coordinates.

Modern hardware lets you use any size texture image but earlier hardware requires 2^n dimensions on each edge.

Thanks