Random RGB Texture in ARBfp

Hi,
I want to create a texture with random rgb colors with ARBfp1.0. Without fragment programs my code looks like this:

red=random()%256;
green=random()%256;
blue=random()%256;

But how could I do this in a fragment program?

-FA

You need a function that can generate a random number given a multi-valued input.

I suggest that you use the screen X,Y coordinates, and possibly fragment depth, as input, and the stuff those through some hash function, and the output of that hash function is the color value. Use three different hash functions for the three color channels.

Another approach is to use Perlin noise. Google for that and Bob’s your uncle.

Hi,
but how do I code it? I’m still new to ARBfp and noise, and the funtions for random values I found are all using binary operators (and I’m not advanced enough to convert it to ARBfp). I already googled for perlin noise and found nothing useful, but I’ll try again. I think I would be able to do it in C/C++, but the texture should be computed completely on the GPU.

Do you know Ken Perlin?

http://mrl.nyu.edu/~perlin/

He has received an award for his work. Click on it.

Perlin noise doesn’t really sound like what he wants…

for one thing, the original example was just random()%256, if thats good enough, perlin noise is overkill.

more of a problem is the ‘entirely on GPU’ part…seems like it would be hard to write a perlin noise shader that didn’t need an input texture that looks like the one he’s trying to replace in the first place.

to the original poster:

an example of using a hash to make random #s would be something like:

TEMP t;
MAD t,fragment.position,{0.2345,0.3456,0.45675,0.05678},{11.22345,32.34456,95.3876,8.2354};
MUL t,t,{0.0234,-0.0345,-0.456,0.567};
XPD t,t,{2222.1234,-2312.2342,1442.7865,1};
FRC t,t;

where those #s are all just arbitrary numbers i picked by mashing on the keyboard, then poking at em for a min or 2 to create something vaguely random looking…