Question about OpenGl, 3D engines, and C

Currently I am learning the C programming language. What I’d like to do after learning it is to make a 3D engine for a game idea I have (I want to make an engine similar to Quake3 not a DOOM clone). What I’d like to know is: 1) how do I go about making a 3D engine, 2) where does OpenGL fit into all of this, and 3) is learning C++ really neccesary for the 3D engine I want to make. Thanks for any help.

[This message has been edited by Icyrain (edited 06-13-2000).]

Though I’m relatively new to the 3d engine field,I think I can answer your questions.

1. how do I go about making a 3D engine

First,find some good reference books.If you really want to make a 3d engine,you need to understand some of the basic concepts and math involved with the process,even though you may never have to see them.The Black Art of 3d Game Programming is a good reference.The author of this book does a very good job of explaining the math involved with 3d games,and he touches on just about every aspect of 3d engine creation.The book is intended to be used for dos games,but the lessons that you learn will apply to real projects.

If you’re really crazy about writing your own equations and formulas,you might want to check out Computer Graphics:Practices and Principles.This book is not for the faint of heart,and it can be very dry reading,but it will tell you more about underlying math involved in making a 3d engine.You might want to find a copy of Introduction to Computer Graphics.It’s a textbook version of Practices and Principals,and it’s quite a bit easier to follow.

You also might want to check out some sites on the net for 3d tutorials.The 3d Blackhole Tutorial is a good read,if you can find it.I don’t have the URL for it anymore.