Qt and GL Concept Questions

I am a novice with both. My task is to write code for a 2D display, a strip chart. No opacity, color fades, hidden anything, etc. Not even any curves. From the glprogramming.com web site and the on line book I find example code of this basic format:

int main( …)
{
glutInit(…);
… // additional code to create and set up
glutMainLoop();     // the app stays here until done
return 0;
}

From my Qt book the basic format is:

int main(…)
{
QApplication app( argc, argv );
… // additional code to create and set up
int status = app.exec();    // the app stays here until done
return status;
}

I am certainly not the first to notice but the Qt and GL concepts are mutually exclusive.

The Qt part of this app must be able to accept user input at any time and send that input into the constantly running GL app. With what little I have accomplished so far, it looks like it is possible, but I don’t understand how. The GL segment of this app must continuously ingest data from outside the application. I have not gotten that far yet.

Do you know of any web page or book where someone has taken the time to explain this?

My current perspective has the GL environment within the Qt environment. Does that seem appropriate and what changes need to be made to the GL main loop to accommodate its being inside the Qt environment rather than running directly within main()?

I am writing test code now but even small bits of information may affect my trajectory.

Thank you for your time

The “GL concept” is actually GLUT rather than OpenGL per se. GLUT is a GUI toolkit, somewhat like Qt but much simpler. It was created specifically to make the code in the “red book” (formally, “The OpenGL Programming Language”) simple and portable. Otherwise, a 20-line test program would need another hundred or so lines of boilerplate initialisation and window-management code which would need to be repeated for each operating system.