Programmatically controlling level of AA

I am using a NVIDIA graphics card and I can see that using the driver control panel I can set the level of antialising to anything up to 32X. Can this be controlled in my program itself? That is, is there a way to programmatically set this level of antialiasing?

I’m no expert here, but yes, for the default framebuffer (window) there are a couple I know of. You can read about all but one of these in NVidia’s driver README – search down for GL_FSAA_MODE.

One is (in Linux):

putenv( “__GL_FSAA_MODE=##” );

before you init the GL context (either set it in the app or in the applications environment before you run it), where ## is an AA mode given by “nvidia-settings --query=fsaa --verbose”. In combination, you may or or may not also need to allocate your window in a multisample visual/FBConfig and enable multisample rasterization (GL_MULTISAMPLE).

Or, you can also just call nvidia-settings to force a specific AA mode:

nvidia-settings --assign FSAA=##

The NVidia README says this is equivalent to setting the env var. Be aware that the FSAA modes change per card.

You can also fall back and specify the level via the FBConfig, but this doesn’t afford you as much flexibility. For instance, I don’t think you can get to the CSAA/SSAA modes this way, and I’m unclear whether GLX_SAMPLES in the FBConfig was ever extended to support more than 4 (you don’t see more than 4 in glxinfo output anyway, even though MSAA modes > 4 samples/pixel are available; up to 32x MSAA on the latest HW).

There’s also a way to get at these FSAA modes via the NV-CONTROL X extension (google NV_CTRL_FSAA_MODE for source code), but I don’t know much about it other than NVidia offers a free libXNVCtrl library to make using this extension easy.