Polygon Smooting (2D)

I am a real beginner in OpenGL and I use it for 2D drawing only at this time, on Windows 7. Please excuse me if this post is not posted in the right forum…
In order to draw text, I use wglUseFontOutlines, whcih generates call lists that I can use later to draw text. I want to have the text antialiased so I use ‘glEnable(GL_POLYGON_SMOOTH)’ first, then I use ‘glCallLists(strlen(text), GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, text)’ to draw text.
On my main computer, it works perfect, but on my laptop, I can’t have the polygon smoothing. Line smoothing works perfect, but not polygon smooting. This laptop runs Windows7/64 with a Nvidia NVS3100M graphic chipset. I ran OpenGL Extensions Viewer 3.55 and it says OpenGL 3.1 is intalled, with 100% of the features supported.
How come my polygons are not smoothed on this computer?

Thanks for any help,
Eric

If you want antialiased Fonts, use the Freetype library from freetype.org or AngelCode’s BMFont Generator which generates a texture for your font.
http://nehe.gamedev.net/data/lessons/lesson.asp?lesson=43
Look at this lesson. The code is outdated, but it gives you a clue how to achieve it.
All Nehe lessons are for OpenGL 1.x and we are already at 3.x.
So consider learning 3.x directly.

In Short words:
You use a texture which contains the glyphs and render parts of that texture to the screen as often as you need it. It is much faster than this wgl stuff and portable.

That is also why smoothing does not help with Font. wgl uses internally the same approach I think.

And for versions of OpenGL: It is a matter of using the correct calls. Displaylists are part of GL 1.x not of 3.x. In fact, they won’t work if you accquire a 3.x core context.
Here is a tutorial about OpenGL 3.x : http://www.arcsynthesis.org/gltut/
It is the only one I found about 3.x
HTH

I thank you for your answer, I will look into this carefully.