perspective view of model.....

Hello, I am very new to openGl programming and I am trying to set up a window that uses the mouse to control translation rotation and zooming. Similart to a perspective window in a 3d modelling application. I am using glutMouseFunc() and glutMotionFunc(). I have it setup so that when the left mouse butoon is pressed, the mouse movements are contolling rotation, the middle button, controlls the translation, and the right button if for the zooming. Everything works fine, exept, when I translate and rotate an object and release the mouse buttons, then go to rotate the object or move it a little more, the translation and rotation that were there get zeroed out, and rotation and translation then pick up from zero. Does any of this make sense, I am trying to explain as well as I can. Any help in gettin this to work will be greatly appreciated. I basically know that the new rotation and translation values that I apply need to be added to the last translations, but I can’g get it to work…If you need to see source code for a better idea, just let me know and I’ll post it…Thanks again.

Its most likely that your values are not global enough and are being reset.

Are you initialising variables in say only the initGL routine with the mouse altering these values.

EG.

initGL routine
gv_posx=0
gv_posy=0
gv_posz=0
gv_rotx=0
gv_roty=0
gv_rotz=0
etc

renderGL routine
gltranslate(gv_posx,gv_posy,gv_posz)
glrotate(gv_rotx,1,0,0)
glrotate(gv_roty,0,1,0)
drawobj
etc

mouse routine
if leftbutton then gv_rotx++;
if middlebutton then gv_posx++;
etc

If you do something similar to this the values would only reset when you rerun the program or choose to reset them.

Hope that helped you and that I understood the problem.

Tina

the variables are actually declared and initialized at the very top of the source file, globally outside all functions…Here is a little of the code…

void display( void )
{
glClear( GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT );
glMatrixMode( GL_MODELVIEW );