Per-sample operation performance problem for deferred shading with MSAA

Hi all:

I am a beginner who is learning OpenGL in order to make a good looking video game. Currently I am working on a deferred shading process to get ready for SSAO, and it’s getting pretty tricky.
I am rendering to multiple textures that store screen’s position, normal, and material information for the geometry pass, then do lighting calculation using the geometry information from the geometry pass. but I am also using MSAA throughout my program. I can’t resolve my multisampled buffer too soon; if I resolve it before the lighting pass, then the geometry information of the screen I get during lighting pass will be no different than if I weren’t using MSAA.

So I did the lighting pass on a per-sample level in the fragment shader in order to defer MSAA resolution until I finish my lighting pass with the geometry buffer. Even without adding SSAO, lighting pass alone takes 3ms on my GTX 660. So I was wondering if I am doing something wrong or is having a good performance for MSAA & deferred shading a lost cause? It’d be an appropriate time to ask the experts on the forum.

Here’s how I’m doing deferred shading while still trying to do MSAA:

For geometry pass:

1. Initialize a framebuffer with three multisampled high-precision color attachments.
  2. Each frame, I bind the framebuffer, specify all three attachments as the render targets, and draw position,normal, and material information out to the three textures simultaneously.

For lighting pass: