Paging Texture - Useful or not?

These questions might not have anything to do with opengl.

I’m currently studying whether texture paging is a good idea to be implemented in an terrain rendering application.

My questions are:

1. If a PC has enough pc memory to store all the textures for the terrain, does using paging increase the frame rates?

2. How does the GPU decide what textures to be placed in the GPU memory?

Originally posted by dilectio:
[b]These questions might not have anything to do with opengl.

I’m currently studying whether texture paging is a good idea to be implemented in an terrain rendering application.

My questions are:

1. If a PC has enough pc memory to store all the textures for the terrain, does using paging increase the frame rates?
  1. How does the GPU decide what textures to be placed in the GPU memory? [/b]
  1. What are you talking about?

2. Every texture is assigned a priority. The textures that dont get used often are removed from video memory when there isnt enough of it. With AGP, they get moved to AGP memory. With PCI, the driver needs to reserve memory and download from the card. That’s texture swapping the details of which are hardware specific and left to the driver implementor.

All YOU can do is hint at the priority of your textures with GL, nothing more.

V-man

www.vterrain.org (lots of info there)

is paging necessary?
perhaps using texture compression (will reduce the texture memory by 1/4 (though at a loss of quality)) also perhaps use a lowerquality internal format (though not always obeyed)

if u are doing something like i am in my freetime which is im writing a program that allows u to walk over a ‘infinite area’ of norepeating landscape u will need to page (which is pretty straightforward) though im generating the textures realtime perhaps u will just read them of a disk?
nyways vterrain has got better info than i can write