Opinion Poll: GLU in production code

Hello,

I’d like to get some opinions on the performance/image size penalties for using GLU in production code.

I hate using abstracted toolkits and high level APIs. As a windows developer by trade, this makes me somewhat of a hypocrite, but nonetheless, I stand by my philosophy.

At most, the only OpenGL header/lib/dll I want to link with is OpenGL32. The idea of using GLUT makes me shiver and glaux seems redundant, but where does glu fit in with all of this? I use gluPerspective() more than I’d like to admit, especially since I can get the same results with a few careful matrix operations.

Every time I include glu.h, a voice inside my head tells me I don’t care about NURBS, teapots, and simplified callbacks. While tesselations are attractive, and I’m assuming that gluSphere is optimized in more ways than I’d be able to code by hand, the question still reamins: should I be using this library in production code?

I’d really appreciate it someone could shed some light on the subject. Maybe I’m just being too anal

Dave

[This message has been edited by lpVoid (edited 02-06-2001).]

I do not really understand your problem: if you need tesselation, use GLU ! If you need gluLookAt, use GLU ! If you need perspective, use GLU !

Of course, you can do everything by yourself… You could even rewrite OpenGL (look at MESA !) but why reinventing the wheel all the time ???

Best regards.

Eric

It’s more of a best-practice/methodology opinion than a problem.

Basically, if I’m only using about 2-5% of the features found in the GLU library, is it worth using? While I know I’m sacrificing image size, am I sacrificing performance as well by using it? I guess a few simple benchmarks will give me that answer, but what I’m really looking for is how you all feel about using it.