OpenXR without rendering loop

Hi there, I’m new to OpenXR and am attempting to build a native application that drives OpenXR enabled haptic devices. This application is meant to run in the background and so I do not need or want a rendering loop. There should be no image sent to the HMD. What’s tripping me up is Section 9.2 of the spec which reads:

During XrSession creation the application must provide information about which graphics API it intends to use by adding an XrGraphicsBinding* struct of one (and only one) of the enabled graphics API extensions to the next chain of XrSessionCreateInfo.

Has anyone had any success in building headless OpenXR applications? Do I need to simply pass a graphics api in, but never call xrBeginSession? My thinking is this would not work based on the session lifecycle section which states:

When the runtime determines the application is eligible to receive XR inputs, e.g. motion controller or hand tracking inputs, it notifies with XR_SESSION_STATE_FOCUSED state. The application can expect to receive active action inputs.

Because this is a background application, I need to be able to send/receive information from the controllers even when the application is not focused. Is this something OpenXR is just not capable of? Is there some other way I should be attempting to communicate with controllers?

After some more reading, this looks like the extension I want:
https://www.khronos.org/registry/OpenXR/specs/1.0/html/xrspec.html#XR_MND_headless

However, it looks like this extension may only be supported by the Monado runtime…this would be a good extension for all runtimes to implement I would think

Yeah, the base spec only has support for exclusive foreground applications.

In my opinion, this is a huge limitation with OpenXR currently. There are many different application types that don’t fit this model.

• Headless applications that don’t need to render, but can always receive input.