OpenGL vs.(?) Java3D

I have a few questions about using OpenGL with Java.

1. If you utilize the Java3D api doesn’t it, in turn, utilize the
    underlying OpenGL implementation of the operating system?

2. Is Java3D just an OO wrapper for native OpenGL calls?

3. What’s the real scoop? Do people use GL4Java or the Java3D api?

thanks all.

1 - If you have the OpenGL version of Java3D then yes.

2 - No. Java3D is a higher level of abstraction.

3 - Truth be told neither is used that much. Java3D is still new and uses massive amounts of memory for simple scenes. I like GL4Java and Magician. But you will be programming for a limited audiance.

thanks for the reply gkw,

i’m just learning java and need something
compelling to keep it interesting. i also
want to help support opengl (vs. direct3d).

now all i need to figure out is if i have
java3d on my system (hmm… does it come
with jdk1.3?) and, if i do, if it’s the
OpenGL version.

if anyone wants to offer further info, i’ve
got mandrake7.2 linux and the jdk1.3 installed.

thanks again.

Java3D is something that you need to download from Sun. Sun doesn’t like to bloat the basic jre so more people will use it. Unless you have a kickass workstation I would suggest using GL4Java or Magician. The memory consumption is far less than Java3D, and you will actually learn OpenGL. If you want to use magician you can take a look at my site, operecitato.freeservers.com.

thanks again groundskeeper,

i clicked around your site and followed the link to
magician.

i’m in.

A good reason to keep learning Java is network stuff - it is far easier than the Windows equivalent.

A good reason (IMHO) is not 3D programming, either OpenGL or peseudo-OpenGL. Stick to C for that - you’ll get far better performance, and be able to reach a broader audience (as noted above).