OpenGL Compiler for MacOS X 10.3.2 PPC

Hi :slight_smile:

i am a newbie about opengl and macos x, i have set up an old but still working ibook PPC G3 and i’ d like to install a Compiler for this os and the related sdk for opengl… where to start ??

Thanks in advance for the help :slight_smile:

Hmm… What OS Version are you on?

Assuming you are on OS X: OpenGL is part of the OS, and consequently the libraries are included.

XCode is free, and includes the full SDK for OS X. So in theory you should be able to get a copy of that from Apple, or somewhere on the web…
First step is to make an ADC account with Apple, where you can download it. Some OS install discs include XCode anyway… So that’s worth checking also.

And there are plenty of GLUT XCode “Hello World” projects out there… which will give you a basic shell in OpenGL…

Thanks for the info :slight_smile:

Sorry for the late reply, i have just downloaded the xcode program from apple site, creating an account, but i discovered that it is only for intel processor and after loading the dmg file the installer wasn’t able to load the .mpkg file… is there any version for Mac PPC computer ? i have an ibook with G3 PPC and Mac OS X 10.4.11 (85165 ) kernel Darwin 8.11.0 … Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

At least recently, the developer tools have come on the install discs that came with the computer, so you could look for those. Otherwise I would try google…

I’m pretty sure that the last version of Xcode that you can use on OS 10.4.x is Xcode 2.5. It is still available at connect.apple.com.

thanks for the info and that’s what i discovered :