OpenGL ARB Membership

I noticed recently that ATi was granted full permanent ARB board membership, while NVidia and Sun who “expressed interest” in december at the same time as ATi have not yet obtained permanent membership. Is there anyone who can clarify as to why this might be the case?

Or who might be able to point out what the only difference between “permanent” and “auxiliary” membership in the OpenGL ARB board is?