Object Oriented OpenGL Programming

Hello : )

I’m relatively new to OpenGL, and normally I am very apt to develop applications in a very object oriented manner. However, OpenGL’s state machine presents a problem that I can’t solve… it is a giant store of global variables and settings that every renderable object can modify… this makes development very difficult, because with each object I have to keep track of the current OpenGL state (like modelview, projection, and all the lighting, blending option settings)

So how do real developers do it ? I’m already pushing and popping modelview and projection matrices, but how do you do the same to attributes and settings ? If there is a way (I’ve heard of popAttrib or something like that, but what are the performance risks ?) I’d like to know and hear ppl’s input

sprite~

Hello,

it is a giant store of global variables and settings that every renderable object can modify…

well, in the object oriented methodology, its more lioke a giant store of private variables, insofar as you use method calls to change them, but you can’t get direct hold of the variables. But, yes; the opengl state is fairly large and you modify it with methods.

I don’t know what you mean by ‘every renderable object can modify it’; renderables use the current state and make changes to the frame buffer (which is also part of that state), but rendering a triangle won’t suddenly disable lighting, for instance. glColor*() will change the current colour, but then that’s because you’re directly changing the state that is used by the next glVertex.

this makes development very difficult,

yes and no. It makes development interesting :slight_smile:

So how do real developers do it ? I’m already pushing and popping modelview and projection matrices, but how do you do the same to attributes and settings ? If there is a way (I’ve heard of popAttrib or something like that, but what are the performance risks ?)