NVidia GLU glut GL simple program problems

Hello, I am kind of new to all of this, trying to compile a very simple openGL program from a tutorial book. I know this thread was already started, but the solutions already offered didn’t work for me.

Here is what I have:
mandrake 8.1 GeForce2Go
gcc or g++ or c++ foo.c -lGL -lGLU -lglut

produces aproximately (bare with me, I had to copy this by hand as my unix is on the other partition and is not on a network at this time)

I wrote down the errors I am getting, here is what I have:
gcc foo.c -lGL -lGLU -lglut produces aproximatley

/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i586-mandrake-linux-gnu/2.96/…/…/…/libglut.so: undefined refrerence to the following

…:glxBindChannelToWindowSGIX
…: glxCreateContextWithConfigSGIX
…: glxgetFBConfigAttribSGIX
…: XGetExtensionVersiopn
…: XFreeDeviceList
…: XQueryDeviceState
…: XListInputXDevices
…: XListInputDevices
…: glxQueryChannelDeltaSSGIX
…: glxChannelRectSGIX
…: glxChannelRectSyncSGIX
…: XFreeDeviceState
…: XOpenDevice
…: glxQueryChannelRectSGIX
…: glxGetFBConfigFromVisualSGIX
…: XMULookupStandardColorMap
…: XSelectExtensionEvent
collect 2: ld returned 1 exit status

Any help would be apreciated. I have been trying to get this going for a while now.

If you knew that this question has been answered before could you have done a search for the answer.GLUT from Mesa lets you use your command line but the original GLUT requires additional libraries like -lX11. Check the makefiles or do a search.

You know, when I installed Mesa, it didn’t even install glut. I tried both the command line options -with and without-glut, but neither produced the files, so I installed from the glut source at opengl.org.

I have been doing a little research, and it seems like this problem is due to certain SGI features not supported in NVidias version of glx? Is this the case? If so, what do I do about it?

Sam

an update

1. Reinstalled Mandrake 8.1
  2. Installed Mesa 4.0 + Demos (GLUT)
  3. Deleted libGL*