nVIDIA drivers slow?

I’ve noticed that the nVIDIA drivers for Linux (latest) are almost 6 times slower than my windows drivers (12.01)
I’m very sure that it’s NOT software rendering and the drivers are loaded correctly.

Can someone tell me if it’s normal that those drivers are so slow?

I’ve read that it can be slower because of some conflicting Mesa drivers but since I’m very new to Linux I don’t know wich files to remove…
Here are the mesa files I found in “/usr/X11R6/lib”:

libMesaGL.so.1
libMesaGL.so.1.0
libMesaGL.so.3
libMesaGLU.so
libMesaGLU.so.1
libMesaGLU.so.3

Some details:

• Direct rendering is enabled.
  • I’ve got XFree86 4.0.3 installed so that shouldn’t be the problem.
  • My videocard is a GeForce2 MX

Hmm, it seems that it’s not a conflicting Mesa library…
(checked with ldd)

AGP is also enabled
(checked with cat /proc/nv/card0)

Don’t GeForece’s (and all NVidia cards) use the NVidia drivers and not mesa?
http://www.nvidia.com/Products/Drivers.nsf/Linux.html

Well, actually I am using the nVIDIA drivers, but they’re just 6 times slower than the windows drivers
And it’s not software rendering (I’ve tried the Mesa drivers before installing nVIDIA’s drivers)

[This message has been edited by richardve (edited 05-02-2001).]

Are you sure the files you posted above are the only opengl libraries you have installed?Try find / -name ‘libGL’ as root to see if there are any other libraries that may be used instead of nvidia’s.

This is what I got after doing that find command as root:

/usr/lib/libGL.so.1.0.769
/usr/lib/libGLcore.so.1.0.769
/usr/lib/libGLcore.so.1
/usr/lib/libGL.so.1
/usr/lib/libGL.so
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGLU.so.1
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGLU.so.1.2.030401
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGLU.so.3
/usr/X11R6/lib/libMesaGLU.so.1
/usr/X11R6/lib/libMesaGLU.so.3
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.3
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGLw.a
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1.0
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1.2.030401
/usr/X11R6/lib/libGLwrapper.so.0.1.4