Newbie to OGL needs help

I’ve just myself an OGL book. Unfortunately it doesn’t tell you how to set up the basics. I’ve decided to go with Apple’s SetupGL to start off with, as it appears to be the simplest method. Unfortunately, when I run my prog, SetupGL claims that the renderer check has failed. I’ve got OGL installed and I’ve got an OGL capable graphcs card (voodoo3). Anyone else had this problem. I’ve tried messing around with the AGL requirements for the renderer, but it gives me the same error no-mater what.

Any help would be much appreciated.

If you are new to openGL-I suggest using GLUT first. You can get it from the Apple developer kit if you don’t already have it. I’m fairly new to openGL myself so I can’t comment on the efficiency of it but it takes care of all of the Apple specific junk required to get up and running. For example-to get a opengl window up, you simply need to init the GLUT interface-register a couple callbacks and make a single call to a function to have a gl capable window-ready to go. I would check it out. There is an extensive tutorial section on it posted on the main site as well.

best of luck
phenotic

Make sure you have your libraries setup to be linked.
you’ll need the following ones for most of nehe’s opengl tutorials.

glut.lib
openglmemorystub
openglutilitystub
mui.lib
opengllibrarystub
tk.lib //not necessary unless you are doing textures.

then off course there are the headers.

Another question, what compiler are you using?

Cheers

Unfortunately, I’m using MPW. Which means I can’t use either mui.lib or glut.lib without recompiling them (which I have done). But I’ve tried glut, and got it to work, but I get about 5fps at 1024x768 cos it’s all done in software. I’d use glut if I knew a way to get it to use hardware rendering. I’ve even tried using the glutInitGameMode call. Any advice on how to do this would be much appreciated.