Newbie needs help.

I’m a student taking a class on AutoCad 3D civil drafting. I haven’t worked with autoCad since 1993. I spent most of my career working with ComputerVision Cadds5 parametric software running on Solaris OS with a Sun Microsystems risc chip computer.
I’m looking to get a computer and I was thinking of building or buying a gaming computer but when I looked up the requirments for autoCad it metioned that the graphics card needs to have at least 128 MB and support openGL.
So my question is what kind of graphics card should I get. I was thinking of getting a motherboard w/ EVGA nforce 780i SLI Motherboard - A1 Version, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI, Socket 775, ATX, Audio, PCI Express 2.0, Dual Gigabit LAN, S/PDIF, USB 2.0, Firewire, Serial ATA, RAID
But I’m still unsure of the terminoloy og graphics cards. I would like to some day run multimple Gcards but I’m on a student budget right now.
Any suggestions?

I think it comes down to what your budget might be. A good sub-$100 card can be had in the NV GeForce 8800 series. $100-$200, the GeForce 9800 series. $200-$500 GT2x0 series. $500+ Quadro series (drivers are optimized for CAD tools).

Any of those would probably meet your needs for CAD as a student. Also depends on how future-proof you aim to be.

First, may I apologize, I’m a student, I’m learning Civil CAD and wanted to build my own Cad system to learn on and maybe impress a future employer. But what happened is I started doing research after I posted, but the more I learned the more I realized “I don’t know jack”. I’m alittle ashamed, but I’m a student.
I am so sorry if I offended anyone, I realise that their are some Computer Engineers that might have gotten layed off, I myself used to work as a CAD drafter in Mechanical Engineering.
But I have learned some things that might be helpful.