Nehe Tutorial Projects (Newbie Question)

Hi,

I’d really like to have a go at some of the tutorials on the Nehe Productions site

http://nehe.gamedev.net/data/lessons/lesson.asp?lesson=02

as they all look really interesting. Unfortunately, it looks like the Cocoa XCode projects very kindly converted by Bryan Blackburn no longer compile on more recent MacOS versions (I’m currently using 10.5.1 on a MacBook Pro).

I wonder if anyone could possibly give me some hints on getting the code to work under OS X 10.4 or 10.5? I get a number of errors with the projects I’ve tried to compile.
The first one is an error for the
#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>
line in main.m. Apparently, this library can’t be found. I’m not sure why this should be the case, as the import command for the same library in projects I am able successfully to compile looks identical. Any ideas? I think other errors may be related to the failure to load the Cocoa library.

I’m a complete beginner when it comes to XCode and Cocoa I’m afraid, though I have done bits and pieces of coding and scripting in a number of different languages over the years. I’d love to learn a little about OpenGL on the Mac, and these tutorials seem an ideal starting-point.

Cheers

Regards,

Alex Drinkwater
Quartz Composer realtime effects blog: http://machinesdontcare.wordpress.com
Music site: http://www.toneburst.net

If one project can find Cocoa.h and other cannot, then you should check what your include path is set to in both projects.

If include path settings will not solve this problem, then you should check if the other project (that you can compile) does not include Cocoa library somewhere in it’s folder.

Aha!
That sounds like a good plan. I’m sure the locations of things have changed since the early days of MacOS X. I have a feeling some of those Nehe tutorials are quiiiiite old now.

I will try to find out how to check the include path.

Thanks,

alx

Any pointers on how I might correct the include path?