Need help beginning with Lighting

Hi. I have taken up a 3D home modeler as my project, which lets the user construct any simple building(its very basic though). I have already finished with the construction part, and now i want to add lighting(I have never used lighting before).
I want to use a very simple lighting scheme in which there is an overall lighting all over the scene. So even if the user navigates and comes inside a room, he should find sufficient light to look around. I was thinking of simulating a light for sun, but what happens when i am inside a closed room? Does it have to do anything with global ambient light?
Time is short, and ultra realism is not on my mind. To be frank, i need lighting so that my objects - like walls, become perceptible. So can someone please tell me a simple method to use lighting. If you can give some example lighting parameters to begin with, that would simply be great.Please suggest me how to define material paramaters also.

Thanks.

You might be able to use a lantern-style light, that is one with a position relative to the camera.

That way wherever the eye was, it would see things. Here’s the idea:

//top of display func.
    Glfloat *camTrans; // eye trans. matrix
                       // used for the projection

glMatrixMode( GL_MODELVIEW );
    glPushMatrix();
    glMultMatrix( camTrans );
    glPushMatrix(); //needs to be pushed to move 
                    // light, I think.
    glLightv(...// position the light 
    glPopMatrix(); glPopMatrix(); //revert mview

Would that work?

Hope it helps,
-Matt

If you just need lighting to be able to see things, it is very simple. Don’t wory about closed rooms, there are no cast shadows by default so you will be able to see.

Personnaly I don’t really like ‘lantern-style light’, because I find it flattens out the geometry.