multipass-multitexturing problem

I have a hundred images I want to draw to an object. I have it working fine (albeit a bit slow) with only multipass. To speed things up I want to render them eight (for my card) at a time. However, when I do that only the first eight show. There seems to be a blending problem. One odd thing, I can render eight on the first pass and then one on each following pass.

To recap these rendering patterns work:
1,1,1,1,…1
8,1,1,1,…1
and this one doesn’t
8,8,8,…8,4

I have very little experience with OpenGL so I can’t tell if this likely to be a bug in my card or bug in my code. I feel my code is right and that there is a problem in my video card. What does it sound like to you guys? Is there a problem with combining mulitpass and multitexturing?

it is probably your code.
What is your video card and driver / os ?

The card is an ATI 9800 pro. The driver version is 8.282.0.0. The driver date is 8/2/2006. The OS is Winsows XP.

Here is my code. It’s in Java using JOGL (Java’s bindings for OpenGL). It should be easy to follow the OpenGL part though. Basically on the first pass I decal the textures and then on every pass after that I blend them. It only works if you set the numberOfTextures to 1 after the first pass.

public void displayLayer(GL gl){

for(LandSurfaceShard shard:shards){
			positionCamera(gl,shard.shardOffsetX,shard.shardOffsetY,shard.shardOffsetZ);
			boolean shardDrawn=false;
			boolean textureDrawn=false;
			boolean firstPass=true;
			int multiTextureCounter=0;

for(Survey survey:layer.getSurveyList()){

// .........Math removed..........

for(SurveyTile surveyTile:survey.getSurveyTileList()){
					Boundary tileBoundary=surveyTile.getBoundary(survey.surveyX,survey.surveyY,survey.yAxisDegreesFromNorth,survey.surveyReferenceEarthRadius);
					if(!shard.boundary.overlaps(tileBoundary)){
						continue;
					}

textureDrawn=false;
					gl.glActiveTexture(GL_TEXTURE[multiTextureCounter]);