more than 8 bits display

Hi everyone,
I’m quite new in openGL. I’m working on a video player able to manage 10bits frames.
Actually my app is able to convert a yuv frame into rgb but only considering 8 bits frames.
I would like to expand to to 10 bits frame (represented on 16 bits little endian).
The idea is to have the conversion in the shader:
16 bits yuv -> 8 bits rgb.
it is on this point that i’m blocked…
here is how it is working today for one component:

glActiveTexture(GL_TEXTURE0); //select active texture unit
            glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, id_y); //bind a named texture to a texturing target
            glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_LUMINANCE, size_plane[0][0], size_plane[0][1], 0, GL_LUMINANCE, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, plane2Display[0]); //specify a two-dimensional texture image
            glUniform1i(textureUniformY, 0);//Specify the value of a uniform variable for the current program object

and here is the code of my shader:

varying vec2 textureOut;
uniform sampler2D tex_y;
uniform sampler2D tex_u;
uniform sampler2D tex_v;
void main(void)
{
    vec3 yuv;
    vec3 rgb;    
    yuv.x = texture2D(tex_y, textureOut).r;
    yuv.y = texture2D(tex_u, textureOut).r - 0.5;
    yuv.z = texture2D(tex_v, textureOut).r - 0.5;
    rgb = mat3( 1,       1,         1,
                0,       -0.39465,  2.03211,
                1.13983, -0.58060,  0) * yuv;    
    gl_FragColor = vec4(rgb, 1);
}

What I want to do is simply a shift+cast of my 16 bits value on 8 bits but I really do not get how the formats are managed…

thank you for your help!

Gabriel