Matrix stacks and post-multiplication

hi dudes,

i am fairly new to OpenGL, so this might seem as a stupid question to you.
In one class i am supposed to explain the principals of matrix stacks and matrix post multiplication.

1.) Principals of Matrix stacks.
Well, i know about the glPushMatrix() and glPopMatrix(). These are used to store the transformation matrices, object positions and viewing transformations etc.
all good - i understand this part as how the code works. Unfortunately i dont understand why does OpenGL need these? To save and throw away transformations? or these stacks? Whats the deal? Also, are these stacks saved in the RAM, or the CPU/GPU?

2.) I have to explain Matrix post-multiplication. I’ve tried googling this, but i got more confused. Pre- and post-matrix multiplication just means multiplying a matrix on one side or the other of another vector or matrix - but how is this done in the code? I am a bit confused here.

Help is greatly appreciated!

1. needed for hierarchical transformation. (i.e the character’s hat is rotated sideways, the character is inside an elevator, the elevator is on the 11th floor, the building is on a hill).
    Yes, matrices are kept in RAM and products of them (i.e the final model-view-projection matrix, the normal matrix, etc) are uploaded to the gpu on demand.
  2. glRotatef() , glTranslatef(), etc do matrix post-multiplication on the current matrix (the modelview, projection or texture matrix).
    Mat4 mat1; mat1.translate(1,2,3); glMultMatrix(&mat1.floats[0]);

Ilian’s taken care of you, but just to add a thing or two that’ll hopefully help it gel.