Make swinging 2D grass with shaders

Hello,
I am pretty new to shaders thats why I am don’t know how to begin making such a shader.
First of all the situation.
I have this small(In this example only 2 x 2) tile map, where each tile/quad has his own vertices, with a 2-dimensional position and uv coordinates.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]867[/ATTACH]
(The red rectangles marks the vertices, that have in real the same position, I only draw it on the picture side by side to demonstrate, that the tiles/quads don’t use the same vertex)

I want that the yellow vertices are slowly move a little bit to the right than back and the same to the other direction so the texture is stretched and for example a grass texture would look like it’s swinging.
The green vertices should not move, they simply should stay where they are.
Now I am wondering me how I know in the vertex shader that the current vertex should move or not?
Must I give every vertex a additional attribut so I could read in the shader whether the vertex should move or not ?

Can someone help me, or is that a wrong approach/is there a better way ?

[QUOTE=DuffCola;1263744]Now I am wondering me how I know in the vertex shader that the current vertex should move or not?
Must I give every vertex a additional attribut so I could read in the shader whether the vertex should move or not ?
[/QUOTE]
The vertex shader only sees individual vertices, not the primitive of which they are a part or the vertex’ relation to it (it’s common for a single vertex to be part of multiple primitives).

In some cases, you may be able to use gl_VertexID to infer additional details about the vertex being processed. Otherwise, you’ll need to use an attribute.

One very cheap way I achieve grass animation is by making some assumption about the alignment of the texture.

This may not be the same in your case however you can adjust values appropriately.