MacOS X port of GLFW

Hi!

This is the continuation of a thread in the toolkits forum , but I think it is better handled here in the Mac forum (where all the gurus are )…

Intro: I am the author of GLFW , which is a portable OpenGL toolkit (primarily aimed at game development). At the moment it works on Windows and Unix/X11 (Linux, SGI/IRIX, Solaris, etc), but I (and many others) would like a Mac port of the toolkit too.

Since I do not have a Mac myself, I am forced to rely on others to do the port for me (but I want to help as much as I can, of course). For the interested, I have created a web page with some base Mac OS X sources for GLFW. Go here !

Ok, on with the show…

Since I’m new to MacOS X, I have few questions. The most critical question is: Which interface(s) should be used?

Personally, I feel that a pure MacOS X port would be OK (don’t support MacOS 9). MacOS X is also much better suited for supporting GLFW (e.g. the multi threading part). Then the question seems to be: Cocoa or Carbon?

Related questions:

1. Can you code Cocoa from standard C? (the Apple site only mentions Obj-C)
  2. What compilers support MacOS X? Can we support them all?

To question 2, paulfjeld answered:

Apple provided IDE (free) and CodeWarrior 8.0 (expensive). (other Java, Basic as well). As long as you support the ProjectBuilder/App Builder requirements, I think Codewarrior can handle it >and< give you Classic with simple switch-throwing.

My followup questions:

• Is there ANY way of getting threads (see GLFW manual) to work under “Classic”? Since the Unix port of GLFW uses pthread, and pthread is included in MacOS X/Darwin, it is the easiest way to go (it has already been tried by Keith Bauer, and it works).

• GCC 3.x works for MacOS X (right?). Can it handle Cocoa etc? Can you mix the Apple IDE libs/includes with GCC? Is there a simple-to-install binary distro of GCC for MacOS X (similar to MinGW32 for Windows).