Lock API

I went over some of this suggestion in another thread, but I wanted to clarify some of the points and create a new discussion rather than derail that thread.

Current Performance Problems in OpenGL

It is inferred from NVIDIA’s work on the bindless graphics API that OpenGL has a number of basic inefficiencies in its vertex specification pipeline that create a large number of client-side memory accesses for each draw call.

The purpose of this proposal is to solve these problems without resorting to low-level hackery as in the bindless graphics extensions.

Origin of the Problem

Not being an NVIDIA driver developer, I can only speculate as to the ultimate source of the client memory accessing. Thus, this analysis may well be wrong, thus leading to a wrong conclusion.

The absolute most optimal case for any rendering command is this: add one or more command tokens to the graphics FIFO (whether the actual GPU FIFO or an internal marshalling FIFO). This is the bare minimum of work necessary to actually provoke rendering.

The first question is this: what is in these tokens?

The implementation must communicate the state information of the currently bound VAO. Which vertex attributes are enabled/disabled, what buffer objects+offsets+stride they each use, etc. Basically, the VAO state block.

However, in GPU lingo, some of that state block contains different data. Specifically as it relates to buffer objects. All the GPU cares about is getting a pointer, whether to video memory, “AGP” memory or whatever it can access.

The VAO stores a buffer object name, not a GPU address. This is important for two reasons. One, buffer object storage can be moved around by the implementation at will. Two, buffer object storage can be ‘‘reallocated’’ by the application. If you have a VAO that uses buffer object name “40”, and you call “glBufferData” on it, the VAO must use the new storage from that moment onward.