Local copy

Hello ,

It is my first post on this forum, :smiley: HELLO EVERYBODY!!!

I am a beginner in OpenCL so I have installed OpenCL on ubuntu and they are few example and one about sobel filter.

I already saw other example on sobel filter but this one is special. The other example of sobel filter took split in workgroup and all workitem worked independently. But in this example (if I well understand the program) created a local variable. Here is the kerel code:

/*
 * Copyright 1993-2010 NVIDIA Corporation.  All rights reserved.
 * Please refer to the NVIDIA end user license agreement (EULA) associated
 * with this source code for terms and conditions that govern your use of
 * this software. Any use, reproduction, disclosure, or distribution of
 * this software and related documentation outside the terms of the EULA
 * is strictly prohibited.
 */

// RGB Sobel gradient intensity filter kernel 
// Uses 32 bit GMEM reads into a block of LMEM padded for apron of radius = 1 (3x3 neighbor op)
// Gradient intensity is from RSS combination of H and V gradient components
// R, G and B gradient intensities are treated separately then combined with linear weighting
//
// Implementation below is equivalent to linear 2D convolutions for H and V compoonents with:
//	    Convo Coefs for Horizontal component {1,0,-1,   2,0,-2,  1,0,-1}
//	    Convo Coefs for Vertical component   {-1,-2,-1,  0,0,0,  1,2,1};
//*****************************************************************************
__kernel void ckSobel(__global uchar4* uc4Source, __global unsigned int* uiDest,
                      __local uchar4* uc4LocalData, int iLocalPixPitch, 
                      int iImageWidth, int iDevImageHeight, float fThresh)
{
    // Get parent image x and y pixel coordinates from global ID, and compute offset into parent GMEM data
    int iImagePosX = get_global_id(0);
    int iDevYPrime = get_global_id(1) - 1;  // Shift offset up 1 radius (1 row) for reads