Loading multiple images

Hi everyone im very new to this and would like some help. All the OpenGL must be done in standard library for it to run on my machine.
So far ive got my programme to open a window, now i need it to open multiple images from disk within that window.Could someone show me the code to do this? Below is what ive got so far…

#include <GL/glut.h> // Include the GLUT header file
#include <GL/gl.h>

#include <GL/glu.h>

#include <stdio.h>

void display (void) {
glClearColor(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f); // Clear the background of our window to white
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT); //Clear the colour buffer (more buffers later on)
glLoadIdentity(); // Load the Identity Matrix to reset our drawing locations

glFlush(); // Flush the OpenGL buffers to the window
}
int main (int argc, char **argv) {
glutInit(&argc, argv); // Initialize GLUT
glutInitDisplayMode (GLUT_SINGLE); // Set up a basic display buffer (only single buffered for now)
glutInitWindowSize (1500, 800); // Set the width and height of the window
glutInitWindowPosition (100, 100); // Set the position of the window
glutCreateWindow (“Image viwer”); // Set the title for the window

glutDisplayFunc(display); // Tell GLUT to use the method “display” for rendering

glutMainLoop(); // Enter GLUT’s main loop
}

From here i want to be able to move the images around and zoom in on them and stuff. But this isnt important yet.

Thank you very much in advance, Tom

Perhaps you should look into a tutorial for this kind of thing.
Like this one http://nehe.gamedev.net/tutorial/lessons_06__10/17010/

Thankyou very much for the link, however i dont want to map the images onto a shape i simply want the images to be there on a canvas. How do i go about this?

Thanks, Tom

You don’t.

You cannot draw an image in OpenGL. You can only draw objects, and you can use texture mapping to map a texture (for your purposes: image) onto that object.