List of which commands use which VK_PIPELINE_STAGE sync points

I’m new with Vulkan and have some questions:

Can someone tell me if there is a condensed list of which Vulkan commands offer which synchronisation points defined in VK_PIPELINE_STAGE enum? I assume that for example draw commands offer stuff like FRAGMENT_SHADER_BIT or VERTEX_SHADER_BIT but copy commands for example shouldn’t need these but other stuff right?

Regards

I don’t think anyone has compiled a list, but do you really need one? It’s usually pretty obvious which commands use which stages. And if you’re doing synchronization, you generally have some idea what the source and destination of those operations are.

Well it requires you to know which internal steps each command has and guess to which bits that maps and I find that cumbersome.

Do I understand right that the VK_PIPELINE_STAGE bits are basically global queues that all commands share? And that triggers a semaphore once all work before the command that queries the semaphore is finished?

Btw do I understand right that copy commands only have one stage which is equivalent to VK_PIPELINE_STAGE_TRANSFER_BIT ?

What exactly requires that? What are you doing that requires you to “guess” what stages an action command will use?

Here’s what I mean. Let’s say that you want to upload some data into a buffer, then read from that buffer in a compute shader operation. By merely saying what you’re doing, you’ve already stated which stages you need to use in your synchronization for this operation. No “guessing” is involved.

That is, I don’t need to read the details of the dispatch command to know that I want to make memory visible to the compute shader stage.