Like soaking in a totally Black surface...(not knowing where the problem is)

Hello, I’m a newbie to OpenGL, and currently using GLUT to do some experiment.

Here is a problem I got when I try to light a glutSolidTeapot by a light in direction of (0, 0, -1). But I got the teapot that half of it “soaking” in a totally non-transparent surface, and the it seems also has the perspective problem( some surface near the eye become totally transparent) like this:

the snapshot

And I’m sorry that I don’t know where exactly the problem is… so the full-code about only 50 lines is at:

the code
(the header’s path is for Mac OS X)

I would be really grateful to hear from any possible suggestion, Thank a lot.

looks like depth testing isn’t enabled.

try glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST) and glWriteMask(GL_TRUE).

EDIT: post scriptum: same here, link to code dud’n work.

Good recovery Relic! :stuck_out_tongue:

The link to the code doesn’t work for me, but from the image it looks like a simple depth buffer problem.

Make sure you have
glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);
in your code.

Also check if your viewing frustum is overly deep.
Make the zFar/zNear ratio as small as possible without clipping your teapot.

If the teapot is unit size use something like:

// For clarity:
GLdouble zNear = 1.0; // Must be > 0.0!
GLdouble zFar = 5.0; // Must be > zNear
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
gluPerspective(45.0, 1.0, zNear, zFar);
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();
glTranslatef(0.0f, 0.0f, (float) (-0.5 * (zFar - zNear))); // Move origin in the z center, here 2.0 in world coordinates. But z-translation need to be negative in this matrix, read about the handedness of coordinate systems in the RedBook.