Just a few questions about the very beginning

I am an OpenGL newbie here - with the following questions:

1. I read that specific functions in OpenGL can be executed only on a specific Video Card?
  2. If so, how do I know what video card I need, in order to run an OpenGL application?
  3. I am a C++ programmer and work under a simulation project, where an accurate 2d coordinate system is needed, that is options like zoom in/out, scale, rotate etc. Are these to be found and implemented easily in a 2d dimension? I also need a way to draw basic 2d shapes such as: rectangle, line, circle, and of course with their properties such as: fill color, line color, width etc. What OpenGL version do I need in order to have these features visualized ok?
  4. I also have financial limit - the PC I will buy needs to be just efficient for some C++ + OpenGL programming. So far, no 3d abilities are needed, only speed. What graphic card can you recommend me?
  5. I also search for a good IDE under Linux (GNOME desktop), which supports both C++ and OpenGL API. So far I’ve heard about Anjuta.
  6. Further more - as I will do my application under the Linux environment - are there any specific to this platform headers, libraries etc that I need to be aware of?
    Best regards

The OpenGL supports a flexible extension mechanism, that allows it to introduce new functionality with ease. Hovewer, this can lead to the portability problems as different hardware vendors often provide different extensions.
Luckily, popular and usefull extensions end up to be standartized and are included into the OpenGL core. So, for example, OpenGL 2.0 includes the mechanisms for programmable graphics pipelines.
Usually, you don’t care much abou the extensions, if you don’t write some very specific stuff.

A good graphics card for OpenGL developement would be a recent card from ATI or NVIDIA, with recent drivers.