Is this simple?

Hi,

I’m Joachim from Germany.
I’ve got to write a small program. First I want to know is it possible and second is it complicate. I have never written a program with OpenGL before, so I’m really new in this.
Until now I have not much read about OpenGL, I just wanted first to know: Is it possible? Would it be complicated? Maybe: How long would it take fro a real newbie t write it? … Maybe someone has some tricks and good links to good information. …

My small program should be written in Java on an Linux system. And it should work like this:

-> displaying “stereoscopic graphical material”

-> function to switch on and off the stereo-view (simply switch to one of the both pictures)

-> “normal-view” and “stereo-view” it should be possible:

• to zoom in and out
  • scroll the display window

-> just in “normal-view”:

• rotate the whole picture
  • to switch on the stereo-view (first automate rotate to the stereo-position and then switch it on)
  • a kind of toggle-view: just in “normal-view” switching the display of the two pictures (maybe by the hit of a key)

Thats all what the program should do.
Just as a comment to this:

• it will be run on a debian system
  • this has a “stereoscopic Monitor” with “circular polarization”

I hope someone knows a bit about OpenGL with stereoscopic displaying and can help me a bit.

Many thanks to all who read my bad English and want to help me.

best regards from Germany
and “Happy New Year”

Joachim

Hello Joachim, I’m Henri from Finland.

I am not quite sure what you mean by “stereoscopic graphical material” exactly, but yes, as far as I understand, OpenGL does indeed have a support for stereoscopic rendering. There are multiple OpenGL bindings for Java. Check out, for example the JOGL library (https://jogl.dev.java.net/) and LWJGL (http://lwjgl.org/).