Is there a way to get a pixel data mid-rendering?

Hello !

I’m kind of new to OpenGL, and for a certain program, I need to be able to manipulate (gather, modify and update) a pixel array. The issue is that I’ve already written loading and updating functions, but as far as I understand, they only work on the last rasterized framebuffer, and therefore can’t be gathered during rendering in the way that I want to. Here are the loading and updating functions I’ve written (of course if anything seems wrong feel free to correct me, and note that this is JOGL, so written in Java) :

public void loadPixels() {
	IntBuffer buffer = IntBuffer.allocate(width * height);
	gl.glReadPixels(0, 0, width, height, GL2.GL_BGRA, GL2.GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, buffer);
	pixels = buffer.array();
}

public void updatePixels() {
	IntBuffer bufferedPixels = IntBuffer.allocate(3*width * height);
	bufferedPixels.put(pixels);
	gl.glDrawPixels(width, height, GL2.GL_BGRA, GL2.GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, bufferedPixels);
}

An example of the way I want to use them is for example rendering something (a few triangles…), then gathering all pixels WITH ONLY these shapes rasterized, and then being able to draw something else on top (let’s say a loading bar) whose render doesn’t affect the pixels that are gathered.

I know that the glReadPixels and glDrawPixels functions only work on the last rasterized framebuffer, and I’d guess that without rasterization, there is no way to gather any pixel information, so is there a way to force rasterization mid-rendering ? If not, is there a different way to gather/update pixel data mid rendering (even at the cost of another rendering step)

Thanks !

I don’t understand what you mean by “last rasterized framebuffer”. glReadPixels reads from whatever the current glReadBuffer is. If you’re rendering to the back buffer, and you have set the glReadBuffer to GL_BACK, then glReadPixels will read from that buffer.