Input Without WindowsAPI?

Hi. I recently started playing around with openGL under Windows. I used XNA for my games previously, and in XNA, you called methods to see if the mouse was clicked, whether a key was down or not, etc. In opeGL, though, I haven’t found any of that:\ I know that you have to use the events in the WinAPI, but that gets messy and disorganized. And not only that, the WM_KEYDOWN event has that delay in the beginning. Is there any way to use methods to get input (or maybe some other way that can be used in the “game loop”)? Thanks in advance.

In opeGL, though, I haven’t found any of that

Of course not. OpenGL, as the name suggests, is for graphics. It doesn’t deal with input, nor is it supposed to.

There are a number of libraries for dealing with input online.

Try either glut, or wxWidgets (they have an opengl canvas). Or Qt (also has a gl canvas).
Windowed programming is messy pretty much any way you cut it, tough, imho. Convervation of messiness. Changing gui libraries just transfers the messiness from here to there :slight_smile:

For mouse input on Windows I believe DirectInput is still viable, despite the fact that MS recommend against using it.

Reasons why.

Firstly it’s more or less guaranteed to be on any Windows PC from the last 10 or so years. No additional library installation, no user headache, just clean and easy.

Secondly it has very comprehensive support for both recent and legacy versions of Windows. (The current recommended approach of using Raw Input has this problem, among others.)

Thirdly it doesn’t have the latency that bedevils Windows messages, where the time from when an even occurs (use clicks a mouse button) to when the message is recieved by your window procedure (WM_LBUTTONDOWN, for example) is variable and indeterminable.

Fourthly it’s actually a very clean and easy API to use.