individual mesh buffer doesnt work.

Hello, I’m new to openGL platform.

I’m trying to implement a VBO based program to render multiple meshes, given a common vertex list, and individual index lists for each mesh.

In order to simplify things, I deactivated all other meshes and I want to draw only 1 quad, which consists of 2 big triangles.

in init() function I created vertex, normal and index buffers like this:

vertexData = (GLfloat*)malloc(sizeof(GLfloat)*totalNumVertices*3);

<parse and create buffers named vertexData and normalData>

glGenBuffers(1, &vboVertex); // buffer for both normals and positions.
    glGenBuffers(1, &vboNormal);

glBindBuffer(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, vboVertex); // activate buffer.
    glBufferData(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, totalNumVertices * 3 * sizeof(GLfloat), vertexData, GL_STATIC_DRAW);
    glBindBuffer(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, vboNormal);
    glBufferData(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, totalNumVertices * 3 * sizeof(GLfloat), normalData, GL_STATIC_DRAW);

// here, for every Mesh structure I create their own index buffer. Then, in display() I plan to call their own index buffers with global vertex and normal buffers.
    for(vector<Mesh>::iterator it_mesh = CurrentScene->_meshes.begin(); it_mesh!=CurrentScene->_meshes.end(); it_mesh++)
    {
        glGenBuffers(1, &(*it_mesh).buffer_id);
        glBindBuffer(GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER, (*it_mesh).buffer_id);
        glBufferData(GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER, numberoftriangles*3*sizeof(uint), (*it_mesh).indexBuffer, GL_STATIC_DRAW);
    }

This code above is roughly the init function.
In Display() function I tried to render scene like this:

for every mesh, do:
        <pushmatrix, set material, set modeling transforms>
        glEnableClientState(GL_VERTEX_ARRAY);
        glEnableClientState(GL_NORMAL_ARRAY);

glBindBuffer(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, vboVertex); // activate buffer.
        glVertexPointer(3, GL_FLOAT, 0, 0);
        glBindBuffer(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, vboNormal); // activate buffer.
        glNormalPointer(GL_FLOAT, 0, 0);