Index Buffer Object crashes nvidia driver

I’m studying terrains right now using the book that I bought yesterday. Now, I converted the codes that are included on the book from immediate mode to vbo. Now, I heard that index buffer object is quite good so I try using it on my terrains. Now, I’m having a big problem, not on my codes but with driver. I don’t know if did something wrong on my codes but I did it correctly or maybe I don’t know, really. I’m really confuse right now because I think my engine is crying right now. lol.

Really, What the heck is wrong?

With IBO (using glDrawElements)

Without IBO (using glDrawArrays)

Without IBO (using glDrawElements)

Hi,
It seems that you did not specify index buffer size properly with

sizeof(indices) * m_iSize * m_iSize * 6

If indices is an array - unsigned short indices[], sizeof will give you the size of entire array in bytes, so you can just put sizeof(indices). If it’s a pointer - unsigned short* indices, sizeof will give you the size of the pointer, but you need sizeof(unsigned short) * m_iSize * m_iSize * 6. You should also check your vertex buffer size, it should be sizeof(Vertex) * m_iSize * m_iSize or something.

Here’s how I defined it.

int *indices;
vector3df *vertices;

Is it wrong? So how would I set it up correctly?

EDIT: Ok I found a solution. I just need to put an IBO on my md2 class to make it work. It’s a weird solution but it works. I’m just wondering why do I need to put an IBO also there? So does it mean that if I use IBO, I should use it all over.

int *indices;

Please note that sizeof(indices) == 8 on 64bit platforms, which will result in an out-of-range memory access.

What you want is sizeof(int) * num_indices or sizeof(indices[0]) * num_indices.

Here's how I defined it.

int *indices;
vector3df *vertices;

Is it wrong? So how would I set it up correctly?