Implementing camera using gluLookAt(...)

Hi there.
I’m completely new to the whole openGL thing, so please forgive the dumbness of my question; on top of that, I’m no English native speaker, so please pardon my writing skills too.

What I’m trying to do is implementing a sort of FPS camera you can move using the keyboard, and these are the lines of codes concerned I’ve written so far.

const double PI = 3.14159265;
const double RAD = PI / 180;

const double roaming_step = .2;
const double angle_step = 1.5;

double angleXZ = .0;
double angleYZ = .0;

const double look_at_offset = 9.0;

double x_pos = .0;
double y_pos = 3.0;
double z_pos = 9.0;
double x_look_at = .0;
double y_look_at = 3.0;
double z_look_at = z_pos - look_at_offset;

bool keyStates[256] = { false }; // used to keep track of pressed buttons

void keyboardOperations()
{
	if(keyStates['a'])
	{
		x_pos -= roaming_step * cos(angleXZ * RAD);
		z_pos -= roaming_step * sin(angleXZ * RAD);

x_look_at -= roaming_step * cos(angleXZ * RAD);
		z_look_at -= roaming_step * sin(angleXZ * RAD);
	}

if(keyStates['d'])
	{
		x_pos += roaming_step * cos(angleXZ * RAD);
		z_pos += roaming_step * sin(angleXZ * RAD);

x_look_at += roaming_step * cos(angleXZ * RAD);
		z_look_at += roaming_step * sin(angleXZ * RAD);
	}

if(keyStates['w'])
	{
		x_pos += roaming_step * sin(angleXZ * RAD);
		z_pos -= roaming_step * cos(angleXZ * RAD);

x_look_at += roaming_step * sin(angleXZ * RAD);
		z_look_at -= roaming_step * cos(angleXZ * RAD);
	}

if(keyStates['s'])
	{
		x_pos -= roaming_step * sin(angleXZ * RAD);
		z_pos += roaming_step * cos(angleXZ * RAD);

x_look_at -= roaming_step * sin(angleXZ * RAD);
		z_look_at += roaming_step * cos(angleXZ * RAD);		
	}

if(keyStates['o'])
	{
		angleXZ += angle_step;

if(angleXZ >= 360.0)
			angleXZ -= 360.0;

x_look_at = x_pos + look_at_offset * sin(angleXZ * RAD);
		z_look_at = z_pos - look_at_offset * cos(angleXZ * RAD);		
	}

if(keyStates['i'])
	{
		angleXZ -= angle_step;

if(angleXZ < .0)