How to use texturing as base for these algorithms?

To start off, I want to say that while I have some reasonable openGL experience, I am completely incompetent when it comes to using textures, so please use an appropriate level of detail in any responses. :slight_smile:

The user will draw a closed curve on the screen (the curve may self-intersect, and the last point is set to equal the first in the list of discrete points drawn), and I want to generate a series of random points that are contained within this curve. The random point generation algorithm is already solved using some other tricks specifically related to my application. However, to do this, I operate in the space defined by the bounding box of the curve, and then I have to apply a second processing step to eliminate those points which are outside the curve.

Currently, I just perform the standard even/odd intersection test, but I do it naively (that is, for each random point, I test its intersection on a horizontal line versus each line segment on the discrete closed curve). When the closed curve has 200 segments and the number of random points gets 20,000 or higher, this obviously is too slow. I had thought about implementing a smarter algorithm for this (BSP-tree related), but perhaps I can use some sort of texturing algorithm to help here?