How to synchronize iterations?

The host provides a 3d vector field, i.e. a 4d-float-matrix:

field[Nx][Ny][Nz][3]

The first three dimensions represent a lattice and the fourth dimension of length 3 stores the three vector components x,y,z at a given lattice point. Before passing this structure to the kernel, it is flattened to a 1d array of length 3NxNy*Nz. Inside the kernel an iteration for each lattice point (i.e. each vector) has to be done for let’s say 10 steps. BUT: For each iteration step the values of adjacent lattice points (6 for each lattice point) have to be considered. Without this restriction I can just let each worker do all 10 iteration steps for each lattice point as they are all independent. But with this restriction I have to wait for each lattice point to reach the current iteration step before the next step for any lattice point can be done.

Is there a way to cope with this? I’m not very experienced with OpenCL.

The only way to synchornise global memory writes across multiple work groups is to run another kernel. i.e. do one step at a time. The best way to think about it is that global memory is either read-only, write-only, or only read-write to the same address range (per work group).

There are many reasons, including that kernels might not even be running physically because they can’t fit on a specific device, and it allows the hardware to run faster as it doesn’t need to worry about coherency across 20+ devices.

Atomics are no solution here, they will be too slow and are not designed for it.

If the problem had only a local requirement then some synchronisation could occur inside the kernel using local memory instead. e.g. depending on what you do with the adjacent values, you could just over-calculate overlapping regions so you can do synchronisation in-kernel. But I doubt this is the case.