How to rotate a 3D - Cube by Mousemoves?

Hey…

I´ve just coded a 3D Cube…
It works with the Win32 GDI(I know very slow) and works with mathematical matrix-computing.

It´s possible to rotate it around the 3 Axis, with buttons…

Know I wanna know how to rotate it with simply mousemoves…can you help me at this problem?

You use the movement of the mouse to calculate the value of the angles.

So, if the first value you read from the mouse was that it was located at (30,50) and the next time you read the mouse, it is at (50, 40) then you’ll have a positive y rotation and a negative x rotation.(As you can see, the X component tells the y axis rotation, and the Y component tells the x axis rotation(some thinking about geometry will cleary make you understand why.)

Still, we don’t have a rotation value. Well for that, you need a mouse speed. So let’s say I use, for every 10 units move by the mouse, I have an angle of 10 degrees.

so (50,40) - (30,50) = (20, -10). This what gives us :

at -10 degree rotation around the x axis, and a +20 degrees around the y axis.

You can even had a user defined variable(like in games) to set the mouse speed to the liking of the users. You just multiply the value of the angle with that variable to have the new mouse speed.

There is something called quaternions that can make 3D rotation whit just your mouse, i have the files (trackball.h, trackball.c) made by Gavin Bell for Silicon Graphics and dinospin.c an example on how to use it, e-mail me so i can give you all this files.

I think the source code for what Gorg was describing can be found in the meshview example here http://trant.sgi.com/opengl/examples/more_samples/more_samples.html
It is what I based my Planet3D code on.
http://www.dialspace.dial.pipex.com/voodoopeople/mars3d.html

Originally posted by Gorg:
[b]You use the movement of the mouse to calculate the value of the angles.