How to find the specification of TPixelFormatDescriptor in Delphi 5.0?

Hi!

I’m studying how to use OpenGL under Delphi. There is a data type called TPixelFormatDescriptor and I want to find it’s specification. I tried to find it on the “Delphi Help” and “Windows SDK” with Delphi. However, I cannot find it.

Can you tell me how to find the specification of TPixelFormatDescriptor or any way to understand what it is?

Any related ideas are appreciate.

Thank you!

Hey guy,

you’ll find the definition of TPixelFormatDescriptor inside of the Windows.pas

But I just don’t know, what the hell you want with this type. It’s name should tell you the usage of it.

see you,
Azrael.

Thank you!

The reason I check this type is that I’m learning the way of using OpenGL in Delphi by reading sample code.

I read part of a book introducing OpenGL with C, but I need to use Delphi now. There are lot of expressions in the sample code I couldn’t understand right the way (such as HDC, THandle, GLContext). I could just copy and paste and modify, but it is not good for keeping a long run without having deeper understanding. So I just go through the code line by line expression by expression, and check for each word I don’t feel comfortable with.

I know it is some kind of boring job, but I think this is the most safe way to understand things.

Thank you!

Sui

if you can speak german, try this tutorial
otherwise you could buy/borrow the book “Delphi Developer guide to OpenGL” it’s not the best book, but the only one about using opengl with Delphi.

if you have any questions, contact me via ICQ.

see you,
Azrael.

Hi!

I didn’t learn German, but I borrowed the book “Delphi Developer’s Guide to OpenGL” written by Jacobs from professor.