How long for an engine approx ?

It’s not the best place to ask this but I needed advises from advanced experts :

How long will it take in your opinion to make this kind of engine ?

-An {C++/GL} Editor & Engine :
*BSP trees (de/)compiling in ASM
*Portal visibility (de/)compiling in ASM
*Light (de/)compiling in ASM
*Nurbs solids

*Parametric skeletals animations
*Advanced physics system
*DInput(opt)

Here is my knowledge : C++ (150 hours), GL (100 hours on VB), DX (25 hours in VB), NO ASM knowledge.

Idea always come, but tell me if reality is not enabled for my kind of programmer…

Do you think I could get descent results in 4-6 months (I’m working on it all day and I’m a math student (17 y/old)… it’s my only work in life). I need to learn also ASM.
??

-All this at possible speeds and display such for movement.

Thank you,
Dave

[This message has been edited by Crusader (edited 09-04-2000).]

You can get something, but that something
certainly won’t be a commercial quality
engine.

If I were tasked with an engine AND an
editor, I’d say “gimme three senior guys
in addition to myself, and two years.” Of
course, half of that time would probably be
testing and market research, which is
entirely optional if you’re only in it for
some kicks and laughs.

If you want an engine to do something with,
you’re probably better off joining some
open source team, such as CrystalSpace.

Yeah, you are definitely looking at a few years. The time will be much shorter if you have other people helping e.g. for the graphics and animations, sounds, etc

But doing everything ALL yourself takes AGES, because you need to spend days testing every part of the engine…and you can’t have an engine without testing, and some basic graphics/animation to show off the potential

-Drak