Help with gluLookAt()

Hi,

I am starting my first ‘real’ OpenGL program after having produced several demo/test programs, and would like to get it running as fast as possible [doesn’t everyone ]. I remember reading one person’s comments (cannot remember where) who indicated that using gluLookAt() to move the camera around the scene produced a great speed impovement when compared to the simpler method of rotating and translating all the primitives to be drawn (the method that all basic tutorials seem to use - probably for a reason) Is this true? If so, how is the above function used? I’m not sure what the ‘up’ vector is there for…

Sorry if this is a bit of a no-brainer , but, as I said, I am new to OpenGL…

Cheers for any info,

Ghee

gluLookAt is not faster than usual glRotatef/glTranslatef, nor is it slower. They are more or less equal in speed.

Concerning the up-vector, you can think of it as the vector telling gluLookAt where the camera’s up is pointing. Placing the camera at a specific point, pointing it in a direction doesn’t tell you how the camera is rotated about it’s own look-at vector. It can be placed upside down, it can be placed with the upside to the left or so.

If you use the standard coordinate system (x=right, y=up, z=into the screen), you can always set the upvector to {0, 1, 0}. As long as you only look left/right, and not too much up/down that is.

hi…

I don’t know very well OpenGL… and english too! But I try to help you!

void gluLookAt (GLdouble eyex, GLdouble eyey,GLdouble eyez,GLdouble centerx,GLdouble centery,GLdouble centerz,GLdouble upx,GLdouble upy,GLdouble upz)