HELP!!!! My final project is an OpenGL program!!!

This is my first time posting here. I’m a computer science student in my last semester of college. My professor has assigned us a program to do in OpenGL (which will be compiled in Visual C++. What we are to do is render a drawing of a bug. I know how to render its body, but how am I going to attach the legs and eyes if I don’t know what vertices I’m dealing with? In my Graphics textbook and all OpenGL sample code I’ve seen, the vertices are small numbers like 1.0, -1.0, etc. My professor will NOT teach us. She expects us to teach ourselves, and I find that very unfair and very unprofessional. If you guys can give me some pointers, I’d appreciate it so much!

Tara

not sure by what you mean… can you clarify your question?

Are you asking about the range??
What data type those verticies are??

Clarification on the question would be nice… or I am just dumb and don’t understand… one or the other

To better explain my problem, I’ll first present a sample program that draws a 3D cube:

/*

• cube.c
  • Draws a 3-D cube, viewed with perspective, stretched
  • along the y-axis.
    */
    #include “glos.h”

#include <gl/gl.h>
#include <gl/glu.h>
#include <gl/glaux.h>

void myinit(void);
void CALLBACK myReshape(GLsizei w, GLsizei h);
void CALLBACK display(void);

/* Clear the screen. Set the current color to white.

• Draw the wire frame cube.
    /
    void CALLBACK display (void)
    {
    glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
    glColor3f (1.0, 1.0, 1.0);
    glLoadIdentity (); /
    clear the matrix /
    glTranslatef (0.0, 0.0, -5.0); /
    viewing transformation /
    glScalef (1.0, 2.0, 1.0); /
    modeling transformation /
    auxWireCube(1.0); /
    draw the cube */
    glFlush();
    }

void myinit (void) {
glShadeModel (GL_FLAT);
}

/* Called when the window is first opened and whenever

• the window is reconfigured (moved or resized).
    /
    void CALLBACK myReshape(GLsizei w, GLsizei h)
    {